Met Eireann has issued a Status Yellow Alert for eight counties on Tuesday.

The weather advisory affects Waterford, Wexford, Wicklow, Galway, Clare, Cork, Kerry and Limerick and is valid from 3pm until midnight on Tuesday.

The forecaster warns that a depression is set to cross the country, bringing strong and blustery southwest to west winds to southern parts of the country during the afternoon and evening.

The winds will be strongest in coastal areas and will be accompanied by heavy rain.

A Status Yellow alert is issued to notify those who are at risk because of their location and/or activity, and to allow them to take preventative action.

Share it: